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Child Passenger Safety Week 
 
Did you know that crashes are the leading cause of death for children from 3 to 
14 years old?  National Child Passenger Safety Week is a great time to remind 
everyone about the importance of properly securing your children in the 
appropriate child safety seats for their age and size – every trip, every time.   
Buckle Up.  Arrive Alive DE. 

 
What you need to know 

 
Last year during CPS week, 102 drivers were cited for failing to properly secure 
their children in child safety seats, or for failing to have them in any car seat at 
all.   Here are the facts that you need to know: 

 
 Delaware law states that all children up to age 8 or 65 pounds in weight must 

be properly secured in a child safety seat. All children from age 8 (or more 
than 65 pounds in weight – whichever comes first) up to age 16, must be 
properly secured in a seat belt.   

 
 No child under age 12 or 5’5” may sit in the front seat when the vehicle is 

equipped with an airbag. 
 

 The fine for a child seat violation is $25 plus court costs. 
  

 
 

 



What you can do 
 

Did you know that nationally, three out of four children are riding at risk? It’s true. And, the most 
common mistakes reported by Child Passenger Safety Technicians are: 
 

 The car seat is loose and not installed tightly in the vehicle. 
 Babies (under age 1) are placed forward facing too early. 
 Children in car seats do not have harness straps pulled snugly against their bodies. 

 
When it comes to the safety of your child, there is no room for mistakes.   That’s why OHS 
offers free car seat checks year round at its fitting stations and will be partnering with Christiana 
Care and SAFE KIDS DE during September 20th to 25th for Child Passenger Safety Week to 
offer additional free car seat checks at the following locations: 
 

Place: Burlington Coat Factory-Tristate Mall  
Date:  Sept. 18th from 11:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. 

 
Place: Middletown Police Department, 130 Hampden Road  
Date:  Sept. 25th from 11:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. 

 
The Office of Highway Safety will also have their fitting stations available for appointments at the 
following locations: 
 

Place: Wilmington DMV, Rt. 13 South in New Castle, call (302) 434-3234 for an 
appointment. 

Date:  Tuesday Sept. 21st & Thursday Sept 23rd from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. 
Wednesday Sept 22nd from 4:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. 

 
Place:  Kent County DMV, Rt. 113 South in Dover, call (302) 744-2749 for an 

appointment. 
Date:  Monday Sept. 20th & Friday Sept. 24th from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. 

 
Place: Georgetown DMV, Rt. 113 North 

Call (302) 853-1014 for an appointment 
Date:  Tuesday Sept. 21, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. & Wednesday Sept. 22, 4:00 p.m. to 

8:00 p.m. 
 
Place:  Delaware State Troop 7, Rt. 1 south Lewes 

Call (302) 853-1014 for an appointment 
Date:   Thursday Sept 23 from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. 

 
One Last Tip - It is easy to be distracted on the roadway, especially with small kids in 
the backseat. Do your best to limit other distractions in the car by turning down the radio 
and putting the cell phone on silent.  That way you will be able to pay full attention to the 
other vehicles, pedestrians, and bicyclists who are around you.   
 
It could save your life. 

 
This information is being sent to you by the Office of Highway who asks you to please drive 
safely at all times.  For more information on this and other highway safety programs, visit 
www.ohs.delaware.gov. 

http://www.ohs.delaware.gov/

